Phase Icon

Catalyst Phase

The Catalyst Awards reward bold, innovative ideas that have the potential to extend the human healthspan through disease prevention, mobility, functionality, social connectedness, longevity, and more. Approximately 450 awards worth $50,000 USD each will be issued over 3 years. The first two cycles of the Catalyst Phase ran in 2020 and 2021, and the third cycle begins in January 2022.
Phase Icon

Accelerator Phase

Accelerator Awards are worth $185,000 to $1 million USD or more and are open to Catalyst Award winners and finalists. These awards are intended for innovators who have demonstrated significant progress on their early-stage idea or project, preferably achieving proof of concept.  Accelerator Award competitions are administered by sponsor organizations, each of which determines its respective eligibility criteria and selection process. Current Accelerator sponsors include Johnson and Johnson Innovation, Eisai Co., Ltd, and the European Investment Bank, in partnership with kENUP Foundation.  

The Accelerator Phase began in 2021.

Phase Icon

Grand Prize Phase

The Grand Prize will serve as the capstone of the competition by rewarding the achievement of a bold and transformative innovation that extends the human healthspan. One or more grand prize(s) of up to $5 million USD will be awarded by the NAM. Although the Grand Prize is open to anyone, Accelerator Award winners will be well-positioned for the prize.

The Grand Prize Phase is expected to begin in 2024.